SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Need help explaining what I saw

Robsco

Hi All,

Last night I was out with the wife watching the Persieds shower in the UK, North of England.

Clear skies, moon tucked behind the tree-line, couldn't be better really.

Saw plenty of meteors.

Saw plenty of satellites.

Saw a few planes.

Then at around 01:20 - 01:25 BST, very close to 0-And of the Andromeda constellation...

I saw 3 separate white flashes.  About twice as bright as 0-And.

The flashes were about 5 seconds apart, and lasted maybe 200ms each.

The source didn't appear to move between flashes, but with such a delay between them it was hard to be 100% sure.

After the 3 flashes, nothing.

It was definitely not a plane, and it wasn't as-if it went behind the clouds.

The only thing I can possibly think of would be a spinning satellite, but I've been stargazing for 30 years, and never seen anything like it.

I would love to find a high-def video of last night if anyone knows of a good source?

Thanks,

Rob

Could be a swarm of satellites in a line following each other. There are some that travel together for various reason. While only about 40% of satellites up there can be identified by using satellite-tracking software, that's where I'd start looking.

The one I like best is Previsat. And it's free. Here's a link. It comes with instructions:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/previsat/

Hope it helps!

Dave

Closer, but it was very nearly directly overhead.

There was also absolutely no lights after those 3, usually planes have greens and reds, etc.  There were no flashed before it either.

Does anyone know of a good place to find a video of that night (since it was the Persieds), I tried YouTube but no luck.

If it was one coming straight at me that would nearly make sense :)   not sure that ever happens tho?

But it was 3 flashes, all the same duration, all ~5 seconds apart, and didn't really move between flashes.