SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Starter objects?

Joeistotalycool

Recently I bought a skywatcher ed80 doublet refractor and I am running a cg5 advanced gt mount. I tried the pinwheel galaxy and it turned out.... OK I guess. You could just make out the arms of the cores of both galaxies so I guessed it worked. This is my first time getting a good quality telescope for astrophotography as my old ota was from the celestron eq 130. I am in the UK if you are wondering.

Visual only and from light polluted skies an good friend on here Nick (cotterless45) told me go for clusters and doubles and triples I have had more enjoyment since then. I leave the Galaxies for dark skies except the really bright ones (M31) 

"Turn Left at Orion" would be a great book to invest in... it tells you how things look in small- and medium-sized 'scopes, and what to look for on an seasonal basis.  Really highly recommended.

In binoculars, sometimes M16 & the omega nebula can be as easy as M31 to see. Depends on where your light dome comes from. I was lucky to see them through my binoculars last month. But you'll never now if you don't try so you might as well try for them.

In fact, try for every object you think you want to see! Sometimes you can be surprised ;)

edit: just checked section... Might not apply to photography but hey my point still stands I guess :happy8:

There is a handy tool in the links where you plug your telescope and camera to see how each DSO you select is sized for your combination. Is you camera modified?

Edit: link added for the imaging tool (the tool covers observing and imaging just select the tab you want)

Link here

Are you asking about other objects to image ? Not about objects to look at.

If Visual then 2 options are to:

Google "list of messier objects" and pull up the Wiki page, that give a useful table that can be sorted by type and you pick the big/bright ones from the catagories.