Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie needs help

Ignoring the goto and such bits if you point it at the sky and slowly move it round can you see anything - just an odd star or two?

Idea is that at least then you have it set up and the eyepiece, scope and focuser are all about right. You will have 2 eyepieces use the longer one likely says 20 or 25 on it somewhere.

As it is goto it needs feeding data first, have you fed it? If not where in Lanarkshire are you ?

What do you know? Can you find Polaris. Have you got a compass otherwise.

Sorry to ask questions but just need to know what you need to know.

If it's an azimuthal (and not equatorial) then you can just sit it down on the ground and point it where you want to see. If it is equatorial, you need to point the mount towards Polaris (the north star). But given as your telescope has "AZ" in the name, I'd say it's safe to assume it's an azimuthal mount.

GOTO i have no experience in, but I hope you can figure it out & use the scope manually as well as automatically. Sometimes just wondering can bring rewards :)

Clear skies.

A nice telescope these are the main features of what you have and it is not an equatorial. The mount will move in left right up down movements.

Telescope Features
Diameter of Primary Mirror: 114mm   

Telescope Focal Length: 500mm (f/5 parabolic mirror

6x24 Finderscope

SynScan™ AZ GoTo Computerised Alt-Azimuth HD Go-To Mount

Very likely you have a 10mm and 25mm eyepiece. The 10mm is more powerful than the 25mm, the 25mm is the one to start with.

The telescope mount will need to be fed power, it will not work without power. Takes 8 x AA batteries unfortunately these mounts hate rechargeables as they do not carry enough power.

If you have a smart phone there is great free app to help with setting up the handset synscaninit v2.