Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Terrestrial magnetic reversal - a concern?

From a thread about compasses emerged a digression into magnetic reversals on earth and their consequences. They have happened many times in the past, presumably leaving the earth badly protected against harmful solar radiation.

However, we are now living as a dense population with a tenuous food chain and an enormous dependence on an electronic infrastructure for food and other distribution, trade, travel and communication. I'm not an expert but wouldn't the entire system melt down? And how well would we cope with such a meltdown?

Olly

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Suppose it could be considered only relevant to a magnetic compass. Still bugs me that my tablet with GPS still uses a magnetic system, cannot see why.

From something I seem to think we have more then one sort of set of magnetic poles on the earth - not just the classical 2 at the top and bottom of the planet. There are areas where the polarity is reversed as the underlying rocks are magnetic and theirs is the stronger and so a compass points to odd directions.

Someone down in South Carolina (or the area) asked and it seems their magnetic declination was up around 12-15 degrees, so to an extent a magnetic compass is of limited relevance there.

It is a real possibility.  The field strength has been falling for the past 160 years. Google the South Atlantic Anomaly for what's going on.

It would have a major impact on our civilisation. 

Regards Andrew 

On the plus side, if all electronics failed, so would most of the nastiest weapons. But it leaves me thinking - how bad the electronics would be harmed if at all? The magnetic field on the surface of the earth is tiny and we create our own magnetic fields using permanent magnets and electric currents, don't we? Maybe the only thing that would go crazy would be compasses?