Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First attempt ever (M13) - lots of questions inside!

Hi there,

Had my first attempt at astrophotography last week, my target was M13 - the Great Cluster in Hercules.

I have been observing for about 7 months now, and I originally wanted to try EEA, but the cost of getting an astrocam put me off it.

Instead i started reading about short exposure astrophotography with DSLR's a while back, and since my wife has a rather good one (Nikon D7100) I figured I would save the money on the astrocam and get the other things I needed (Motors, Polar scope, T-Ring, bahtinov mask, etc.) instead.

Turns out imaging is very time consuming and very complicated, but when I saw those first unprocessed exposures come in.. Wow! Quite exhilarating!

I was originially hust fidding around with the gear, the bahtinov mask, the camera and was first time trying the Backyard Nikon software, so I didn't attempt a proper polar alignment, just sort pf eyeballed it..!

Please feel free to comment or critique the image, im here to learn!

Im currently reading the book "Astrophotgraphy on the go - Using short exposures with light mounts" and it is giving me lots of insights and valuable information.

So flats are going to be a priority going forward, so is building a Bias and Dark library so I don't have to spend time doing those at night! Im also going to do alot more darks and aiming for a total integration time of 120minutes.

Data:

26x45s lights @ ISO400 (only 9 were good enough to stack! :hmh: )

10x45s darks @ ISO400

100x1/8000s bias @ISO400

No lights, still trying to figure out my process here..!

Software used: Backyard Nikon (great tool!!), DSS, Photoshop CC 2017 (just stretched and brightened and cropped)

Gear: Skywatcher Explorer 150P on EQ3-2 mount with Enhanced dual axis motor drives and SW polar scope, Nikon D7100 unmodified and used at prime focus

Questions: