Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Solar Eclipse and the EXOS-2GT Mount

Hello all,

I have been researching for the past two months what equipment I will need to buy to photograph the upcoming solar eclipse, I have everything under control except the goto mount.  Because I am new to this, forgive me if I have made any false assumptions or have any misunderstandings.

So after going back and forth with my short-term goals, long-term goals, and budget, I have decided I want an equatorial mount since I have read that alt-az mounts are not well-suited for 30~60 second exposures, due to image rotation.  Although the price is a little higher, I figure it is worth it since I want to be able to use the mount for non-eclipse photography in the future, like star clusters, planets, the moon, etc. .

So I have my eyes squarely set on the EXOS-2GT, for its capabilities and its price point -- I really can't go higher than this price at this time.

But I have struggled to answer some basic questions about this mount that I'm hoping you all may be able to tell me:

Can the mount be aligned during the day?  Can I use the sun for alignment?  Other clever ways to align during the day that don't involve aligning before sunrise?

Is the tripod interchangeble?  Is there any reason why I may not want to use a shorter tripod than the one supplied with the mount?  (this is purely for travel convinience, and reuse with other equipment)

Is there any other eq tracking mount within this price range that you think is better for my needs?  Is there any reason you would not recommend this mount for my needs?

And lastly, can it be controlled from a laptop? (this is not for the eclipse, but in general, if I can re-use the mount to do precisely panned video, or panning time lapse video, it would be a big plus)
(I'm assuming this mount does not have a shutter release port, is that correct?)