Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Looking for DSLR

I am a complete newbie with photography. I am looking for a DSLR. Main uses will be general outdoors and nature - more so still stuff like mountains, scenery etc. I'm going Iceland so volcanoes northern lights etc.

I do hope to buy something that can be later used for astrophotography in the future however. I currently have a dob but am considering changing it in the future for astrophotography. 

I believe Canons are best for astrophotography. I am looking at the 750D which is around my budget (I could go further up in price if it will make a big difference)

My question is whether this camera would be suitable or any alternatives around the same rough budget that might be good for astrophotography

Also what would I need to do in the future to make it good for astrophotography (assuming I change the dob)

Also any tips on settings for northern lights? or just auto point and shoot?

Thanks

For unmodified the Canon's are likely the best choice. The inbuilt filter allows more Ha through then some of the others.

Equally I have a Sony and I cannot get the internal filter characteristics out of Sony, they say they do not know.

If you change it for AP in the future then it will be of little use to normal photography, the passed wavelengths alter so colour balance is lost and so will the autofocus. Overall it is easier to consider it as useable unmodified for photography, or modified but for AP only.

If your thoughts then turn to one for photography and one (body only) for AP then seriously look at a  dedicated AP camera, one of the ZWO's. By the time you buy another body and have it modified it may be similar to just get a camera that is built for the purpose of AP.

7 minutes ago, Sachman said:

Thanks for replies, how hard it it to modify? Is it not something I can chop and change between easily?