SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

New to stargazing

kevinbrooks12

Hi all, I'm still new to stargazing, and I'm really enjoying it so far. I live on Vancouver Island in British Columbia, Canada.  I spend as many nights in the back yard as I can. I bought a Nexstar 4se last November, and just last week I purchased a Skywatcher 102mm f5; which I haven't used yet. 

I'm really excited to be part of this group and have a chance to talk with you guys. :)

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Where on the Island? There are a couple of astro groups around there one in Victoria and one in Nanaimo, and I think there is or was one sort of halfway between Victoria and Nanimo - sort of drive North and they met somewhere about 1/3 of the trip and up a road on the left. Cannot recall the name of the arera.

The Victoria people used to have Sunday morning gatherings at a coffee shop somewhere down Cook St towards Dallas.  Is it the Malahat up towards Duncan on the Vic-Nan road ?? "Gold" something also comes to mind.

If you are in Victoria and if you find the Victoria group I would like to know what happened with the Saanich Obs, they did at one time meet there some years ago but that seems to have fell apart so not sure what happened. Have not had the chance or reason to get over for a few years now.  I used to get the seaplane from Vancouver to Victoria and often flew over the Observatory. At that time it was open much more to the public and I had a good day there.

There a Star Party at the location North of Victoria, maybe check that out. Might also be a party over where Olympic View Golf course is, half recall mention of one but again some years back.

Thanks all for the welcoming.