SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

1st image of the new Astro season

Uranium235

Well, its a few weeks past the solstice now - so time to fire up the gear and see what I can grab in just 2 hours (it was a Sunday night, so no uber-late session).

Unfortunately, it turned out to be the end of an era..... the Acer aspire one ive been using for capture and control for the last 7 years had finally bitten the dust. As soon as I booted it up I could see what was wrong - the screen had cracked (!) I dont remember being heavy handed with it.... perhaps "little hands" were involved, but its no big deal as I managed to get a replacement for 40 quid from the bay of fleas.... it will have 2gb too, so it should be faster on the bootup. It will be no fun trying to set it all up again though (ascom, PHD etc), and I will probably stick with the versions I was using (despite being ancient!) so I can just copy the settings across and get it working ASAP.

However, that was not mission over! I could still see part of the screen (just the taskbar), and I knew that netbook automatically loads tight VNC at bootup. So, I waited for it to boot up - then remoted in with another laptop so I could see the desktop and set everything up.... but focusing over a VNC... umm.. thats "interesting" :)

I suppose its a good thing I did this at home rather than drive out to the dark site to find it busted, but after the testing start I did get the 2 hours I wanted, plus the Samyang behaved really well (good corners)... so not a total loss!

NGC7000 - Sadr

6x600 (Ha) x2 panels

Samyang 135mm @f2, Atik 383L+, NEQ6

Thanks for looking! :)

35815657052_1724f28663_k.jpg

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply
1 minute ago, PhotoGav said:

Welcome back to the night sky, Rob! A lovely return too, despite the Gremlins' best efforts to thwart you. Good luck with the new lappy and I look forward to seeing your always interesting images.

Cheers Gav :thumbright: