Narrowband

Orion G3 Camera Anomolies

SonnyE

Hi. I'm finally getting to a point I'm not too embarrassed to discuss my floundering. My journey into Astroimaging has been fraught with quite a few set-backs, but through sheer perseverance, I think I've beat the odds.

But there is something I seem to be stumped about, and haven't found a way around. To put it politely, I'm a frugal budgeted Astro-imaging beginner. As a retiree, I don't have a squander-able income any longer. So I'm not going to be quick to replace things of considerable cost. Namely cameras. :wink2:

I'd like to try and build a 'Bad Pixel Map' to stop some very irritating problems with my current Deep Space Camera. But not sure how. I think I've read about it somewhere. PHD2 mentions it for guiding cameras.

So I think that might be what I need to pursue, a bad pixel map to filter out the dead spots in my sensor. Open to any ideas or suggestions.

This camera seems to be unstackable in the files it makes. The solid colored (Unmoving) RGB spots are what I would like to eliminate.

And Thank You in advance!

595bea0b8b826_UnfilteredExample.gif.ee90b1dcbc37434f9781f65b98dbf453.gif Unfiltered Example.

595beab556b8e_Filteredexample.gif.2b6eb69bc8fd85f8cd8fc72289f328f4.gif Filtered Example.

Thanks for the replies. This is G3 #3. Number one arrived dead. When I finally called support to ask how to turn on the fan, the support guy said, "You mean the fan has never run?" No, the fan has never run. They had a replacement to me the next day.

That one always had every other row in the sensor dead. After months and months of trying to figure out what I was doing wrong, I finally sent it in. They sent back a brand new one.

Number 3 G3 has been operational. But as you can see, has quite a problem with its sensor.

And it won't stack. Its files won't stack for me, and they can't be stacked by 3 other far more accomplished friends of mine. Of course it is out of its warranty period...