SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

My first go at observing with my Lightwave 72 ED-R

I have been imaging for a couple of years and have largely ignored observing to date. I plan to devote my 72 ED-R to observing whilst imaging with a different scope and had my first half hour last night before the clouds rolled in. It didn't even get to astro twilight but I enjoyed it anyway. I tried the Iris nebula and saw nothing resembling it. I should have known really as its very feint even with a camera. I then looked at the Perseus double cluster, which was lovely, and finally looked at the great Cluster in Hercules (M13) where the most I could see was a cloud but was unable to distinguish any real form and no individual stars.

A couple of questions. Firstly, Will I be able to distinguish more details in clusters on darker nights? Secondly, I have a 1.25" UHC S filter, will this enable me to see any or more nebulosity once nights are darker?

I have eyepieces down to 8mm and a 2x and 3x  Barlow. Cheers, Tim. 

72mm is a small aperture for viewing deep sky objects (good for imaging them though, I'm told). Getting resolution of globular clusters needs more aperture really.

You should be able to see quite a few deep sky objects but making out detail in them with a small scope is really hard work especially in a Summer sky with the moon up !

A UHC-S filter will help a bit on nebulae but it's not going to be a "magic bullet" with a 7.6 cm aperture in all honesty.

The double cluster in Perseus would be a good target for your scope. Stellarium will show you where it is in the sky. Open clusters generally will be good targets for your scope so it's worth finding out where the good ones are in the sky over the coming weeks.