Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

m81 with 15 mins rgb data with astropixel processor

Before the big guns wade in, I will give you my opinion.  ( I am a novice imager who has more enthusiasm than talent....... but I know what I like etc....do not know many of the technical terms..... but hey-ho!!...  )

Good detail on the galaxy, I am impressed with the image size, you have got some of the lumpiness in the spiral arm. That should really fill out nicely with more data.  

My attempts have M-82 in the frame as well and this usually makes it too cluttered or divides the focus of the picture.

The background sky is bright, almost as if there is some nebulosity there, is it sky-glow or the Moons influence ?   I imagine this could be toned down or stretched out (??)...or maybe a longer exposure will improve the S/N ratio and make it less pronounced.

A lot of people are OCD on star shapes,  yours look fine to me.

There you go....  I would be very happy with it, lets face it the semi-pros pixs on here would be 'hours' of integrated data.

Sean.

thanks craney just started using astro pixel processor although i do have pixinsight, i have found astro a lot easier to use,and my data is limited at the moment becuase of the terrible skies we are getting 

Nice one! I'm not familiar with the Atik 414. There's some gradient there and, as Sean said, for me the background is a bit light. Nice galaxy detail and you're getting colour in the stars. Can you give us capture details?

What did you use to process the image?

Looks like great data for 15 mins!

I'm no expert, but it seemed to me that there was a bit of noise, a bit of background, and a bit of green that could be dealt with (with a bit of processing!)

I've tried all that on your JPG and get this:

abe-bilat-onr-rgb-blur-scnr.thumb.jpg.9a728f71b42bf0d52abdbcc3a7fb8361.jpg

2 hours ago, Astrosurf said: