SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hi I am new to astrophotography and photography in general. I have a celestron 130 slt and a nikon d5300 with t ring and extension tube, I am able to connect this all up and focus on planets when the are very small I get little to no detail as it gets blurry when I use higher lenses so I was wondering is it possible to use the lens (18-55mm) I got with my nikon aswell to zoom in when I have clear small image? Thanks

Hi, and welcome... :)

in a nut shell you can't use your lens and the telescope, the telescope acts as the lens...so it's one or the other, but you could try a Barlow lens on the front of the camera, then pop it all into the scope focuser, a 2x Barlow will double whatever magnification you already have...

Hope that helps a bit...

3 hours ago, Xomackemox said:

Hi I am new to astrophotography and photography in general. I have a celestron 130 slt and a nikon d5300 with t ring and extension tube, I am able to connect this all up and focus on planets when the are very small I get little to no detail as it gets blurry when I use higher lenses so I was wondering is it possible to use the lens (18-55mm) I got with my nikon aswell to zoom in when I have clear small image? Thanks

It's not possible to use the lense as the scope is the lense..as you have found out on planets it's not quite doing it for you..why not try deep sky..i take it's a tracking mount with motors? Maybe keep the exposures short and choose bright nebula at first..

Hi thanks for the replies i have a 2x 3x and a 5x barlow and the celestron eyepiece and filter kit (This was taken with a 2x Barlow and a 8mm). The planets is what i wanted to picture first i did use pipp to convert the file to avi and stabilize the the video then used redistax 6 to get best (55%) frames but as you can see it's not the best and very unnatural  

saturn.bmp

3 hours ago, LightBucket said:

Hi, and welcome... :)