Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Observing Chair/Stool

Richard Hather

Hi peeps, just had my second session with my 12" dobsonian Which was fantastic but the stool I have isn't tall enough and some of the options are a little pricey.

Im not skilled enough to make my own but I'm wondering what other members do to be comfortable during those long observations of a particular object.

Sorry Richard. It's that long ago that I don't have a link. I just opened Amazon and did a search. There were quite a few on sale if I remember correctly. I also looked at drummers stools, but decided on the ironing stool as it folds down well for storage.  

IMG_0321.JPG

4 minutes ago, ronl said:

I have one of these, https://www.amazon.co.uk/Leifheit-Multi-Seat-Niveau-White/dp/B0000DH7KA/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&qid=1498498098&sr=8-7&keywords=ironing+stool

I have been using it for over 4 years, I have modified it slightly by making the back plate a bit bigger, and enlarging the seat,

and more padding too, wouldn't be without it.

Thank you I will take a look at it before making a purchase, I would be interested to see a photo of the modified ironing stool if that's ok ?

I use an Ironing Board Stool and also a Drummer's Throne for observing. Check your local Charity shops, as often you can find a bargain there. I found and paid a fiver or less for each one of these while looking for old Astronomy books.

PICT0002 (Medium).JPG

I've got an ironing stool here too, the slight issue with mine is that to change the height requires me to undo a big hand tightened screw and put it back in again after height adjustment.  However, it is great when I want something high.  In fact for £10 each I also got a couple of adjustable height white plastic bar stools from ebay - they are respectably weather proof, I have one set low, one set high and the ironing stool set very high - I just then sit on the most appropriate one for the viewing target.