SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Old new guy

Luna-tic

Trying to get back into stargazing, I used to be an avid sky watcher when I was much younger. The latest impetus has been the upcoming total solar eclipse in August. I'm along the edge of the path of totality, in the 98% total area. I plan to make my way a bit southwest so I can see the total eclipse. It will be the last opportunity in my lifetime, most likely.  In preparation, I went telescope shopping this past week, with several purposes in mind. One, I'm an avid long-range shooter and needed a good spotting scope, something easily portable that I could see bullet strikes at 500 yards with. Two, I'm an amateur photographer, and wanted something I could use as a standalone prime-focus telephoto with a long focal length. Three, something I could restart my star-gazing with that I could upgrade later. My choice, after lots of review reading and  decision-making about the compromises I had to make to satisfy the above uses, is a Celestron C5 SCT. I also have purchased an Orion EQ mount/tripod with a single axis drive, but I have a good heavy-duty camera tripod for use as a spotting scope. I plan on a few more accessories in the next month or so and would like to hear from the experienced folks their recommendations for versatile add-ons that won't break the bank.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Luna-tic and welcome to SGL. :hello2:

I have no experience of solar photography with an SCT, though it is possible to to make your own full aperture solar filter from solar safety film if you cannot buy one ready made. Just remember to remove it during totallity. If you do have to make one, remember to make of for the finderscope too... if it has one. Other members will offer advice on this.