Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Heritage 100p Eyepieces

Newbie here with a Heritage 100P, I've already added a 15mm Meade 4000 china Plossl and a Revelation Astro 2.5x Barlow to the supplied Skywatcher MA 10mm, 25mm and 2x Barlow. As it is an f/4 scope I've read that plossls have to be high quality but as the aperture is 100mm and it's a low price scope more expensive plossls seem a bit overkill (not planning to add a 8" Dob for at least 12/18 months). So the question really is do I upgrade my 10mm and 25mm (probably Meade 4000 again) and will I see a significant benefit, believe with my eyesight I'm not going to get any benefit in going higher than a 28mm so unless advised contrary I don't think going beyond 25mm will help me much. As a guide I'm interested in DSO's not just planets

Thanks in advance

I favoured the GSO Revelation Astro Plössl  after testing Meade 4000 series and  TeleVue Plössl's, which have all been sold.

The GSO Revelations are  available from Astroboot, described as 52° afov. 

As for upgrading your present eyepieces, BST Starguiders will do you fine, their comfortable in use, a better field of view, and will work well on your 8" when it arrives?

Welcome to the SGL.

f/4 is a fast scope, the TV plossl's are going to be too costly, nice but at around £70 to £100 each not really worth it for the scope.

Starguiders are good and I have read they perform well down to around f/4.5, the 8mm would be a good alternative to the 10mm that came with the scope. Will say that different people and different scope are bound to give different results. The GSO/Revelation plossls tend to get good reports. Used to have a couple but cannot recall how good, but I kind of rapidly went beyond them (started buying used TV plossl's). The kind of next are the Vixen NPL plossls, they also get good reports - comments about the bodies feeling too plasticky but they seem to have produced good optics.