SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

My Advanced VX doesn't turn on

Hogyun Yu

Hello, My name is Hogyun Yu From South Korea.

I'm a high school student and I'm using Celestron Advanced VX mount with Skywatcher 8" Reflector.

When I was setting a telescope with my mount, I notice that my Advanced VX mount's LED doesn't turned on. I'd know there's a problem with my battery-mount connecting cable in previous setting in May 8, so I fixed it and check the connection between my lead storage battery and 12v LED (to check the polarity) and it turned on well 1 hour before the observation. I didn't connect the mount to checked the power connection with this fixed one even before the yesturday's observation. 

I noticed the problem yesturday's observation. I thought there was a disconnection somewhere so I cut the wire and peeled off its sheath, reconnected mount and battery with it and check the mount's LED. I tried it more then 4 times but neither the LED turns on nor did the hand controller. I thought there was a problem in cable.

After arriving home, I connected 12v 2Ah adapter and mount to checked whether there's a problem in mount. As I connected the adapter and switched on, nothing changed. So I removed the main board but there is no significantly damaged or burned part. There could be possibility of wrong polarity connection. 

As a student, I can't afford to buy a new main board I want to fix it myself if it is possible. It worked well in previous observation in May 8.

I want to know what cause the problem and how to solve it. 

But when I  s

Hi Hogyun,

I don't have one of your mounts, according to the Celestron manual, the mount require a 12volt 3.5 amp power supply, so I would start by getting a 12volt 5 amp power supply.

If that doesn't fix it, you will then need access to a multi meter, so that you can check the voltage path within the mount, for example does the switch work ?  is there an internal fuse ??