Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First Eyepiece Purchase

I finally got my new scope out on Sunday! It's been rainy and/or overcast every day for over a week since I got it. Figures, right? For those that didn't read my welcome post, I bought an Orion XX12g, which is a 12" truss type Dobsonian, with a GoTo system. The focal length is roughly 1500mm. It came with a 28mm DeepView eyepiece (which is the cheapest one Orion makes) and a 12.5mm Plossl with an illuminated reticle. I was actually fairly impressed with both eyepieces, even though they are fairly inexpensive. Of course, I have very little experience when it comes to what is and what isn't a really nice eyepiece. All I know is that Jupiter looked amazing and I could see details in the bands I had never seen before. Not to mention, I could actually see individual bands that I had never seen before. My one complaint about the 12.5mm eyepiece is the one thing that makes it a useful eyepiece. The illuminated reticle. Even with it turned off, the little black lines still distract your eye and take away from the view. It is certainly nice when aligning the scope and the GoTo system though so I will certainly still use it. I just won't use it for much observation.

So I was looking at getting a new "high power" eye piece to replace it. I knew when I bought the scope, I would eventually get a better quality eyepiece. Over the last week I narrowed it down to the Tele Vue Delos 10mm. It is a reasonable price, with excellent eye relief (my whole family wears glasses), gives me the magnification I'm looking for, has a moderate AFOV, and from all the reviews I've read offers some of the best optics available.