Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Absolute beginner with first camera

Apologies for asking a question that must have been asked a thosand times before - but where can I find a simple step by step guide to capturing and processing a planetary image? The bright shiny red ZWO camera arrived today :happy11:, and I have got it talking to FireCapture on the laptop, and even making a short movie. The movie is monochrome (the camera label assures me it's colour) but I mustn't quibble. But then what happens? Does SharpCap sort and stack the frames?

I crave simplicity, and (preferably) written answers (on one side of a postcard). Can anyone point me in the right direction?

What is the scope, and the mount and what additional items have you in terms I suppose of barlows ??

I would quibble if it is mono and you specifically wanted colour, there is a minor difference.

5 minutes ago, ronin said:

What is the scope, and the mount and what additional items have you in terms I suppose of barlows ??

I would quibble if it is mono and you specifically wanted colour, there is a minor difference.

A colour astro camera will record in mono, storing the colour content until the video file is debayered at the processing stage. The camera will achieve a higher frame rate if it only displays mono.

Download Autostakkert , Registax plus the update and PIPP , these will be your three main image processing tools. Autostakkert and Registax are image stacking programmes which will take your video file and stack the best images from the video into a signle still image for further processing. PIPP is a pre-processing programme which can crop and select the best frames before stacking in Autostakkert or Registax. It is also able the debayer the video capture to restore the colour content.

8 hours ago, Neil Mack said:

Final attempt of the evening - complete with free satellite. I don't think Damian Peach or Christopher Go have much to be worried about.

Jupiter last.jpg