Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Laptop basic requirements

Greetings all,

Probably a frequently asked question here but I've had a look through several threads and can't see what I'm looking for.

Basically, I'm in the market for a laptop and I'm wondering what are the basic requirements, processor speeds, ram, and hard drive storage etc to enjoy astrophotography. 

I am still a newbie .....so at present my needs are collecting my subs, stacking them in DSS and then processing in gimp. I would like to future proof myself for when I will need video capture for planetary work, driving a mount/polar alignment, focus etc etc. 

And it goes without saying.....but I'm on a fairly tight budget!

Up until now I have been using my wife's Mac book air.....but apple is driving me insane ! And correct me if I'm mistaken but a lot of programs used by astrophoto graphers seem to be windows based? 

All suggestions are most welcomed.

I would also point out that while I can find my way around a computer with a minor degree of competency I am most certainly not a computer expert by any stretch.

Thanks in advance.

Andy 

I think any laptop that you can switch on could provide the basics, you just want to get something the offers the most for your money, or invest a little more.
I have been scouring for a laptop, the two contenders were the Dell Xps  or the MacBook Pro, specifically for music production,  I think audio files will be just as demanding as digital images, but the prices put me off. But on a recent visit to my local PCWorld, my MacBook Pro was available to me at half the price I was expecting to pay? 
Its the 12" Retina 2015 model (brand new) with the firewire and USB3 ports that I require. Its lightening quick to what I have experienced before, off to online in under 40 secs!