Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

PHD2 Bad Pixels/Dark Library seem to make things worse ?

Hi all

Novice alert !

I’ve just bought a 2nd hand QHY5L-II-C to use for autoguiding with PHD2. I plugged it in today for a quick test and I am little disappointed that it seems to have quite a few hot/stuck pixels.

I thought that the dark library or bad pixel map functions in PHD would solve this problem and clean up the image a bit, but they both seem to make things a lot worse. The results don’t seem at all smooth and they look more like a blizzard of white dots, is that normal ?

I’m a complete beginner with this so I’m sure I’ve probably done something stupid to get these results. I did follow the PHD manual instructions tho (I think).

Any thoughts/advice on where I am going wrong ?

PHD2.JPG

PHD bad pixel map.JPG

PHD dark library.JPG

PHD.JPG

I think that would be due to PHD2 autostretching the image. Once the hot pixels are gone it stretches the image more so other noise becomes more evident.

8 minutes ago, kens said:

I think that would be due to PHD2 autostretching the image. Once the hot pixels are gone it stretches the image more so other noise becomes more evident.

Thanks for the reply.

Before this I was using a webcam that had 2 hot pixels, I used the bad pixel map and they vanished leaving a dark sky and the odd star visible. I was quite shocked that when I used the bad pixel map with this camera I got a load of snow ! Is that just normal then ?

Any idea how I can improve this ?  

Try  using the noise reduction option in PHD2. This can be found on the Advanced Setup/Camera tab. I had good results using this (2x2 mean) on a noisy QHY5-II. Though apparently the 3x3 median is supposed to be effective in dealing with hot pixels.

Steve

1 hour ago, Spaced Out said:

Thanks for the reply.