SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First night with new 8" dob

Tonight was my first night with my new 8" dob. I can not believe how good this telescope is. 

Im a complete novice and after struggling away with a cheap eq mount scope I took lots of advice off the good people of this site. 

Not really knowing the sky well I worked which star was Jupiter and let the scope acclimatise. (Most important that bit)

then I got comfortable and looked through the scope. To my amazement I could clearly see Jupiter and the bands. And then realised I could easily see the 4 moons. 

I was shocked at how quick it moves through my line of vision but found it easy to nudge along. 

Anyone thinking about this scope all I can say is ...go and get it. I can also recommend First Light Optics. Great quick and really helpful 

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks Faulksy 

first time I have seen it and it's beautiful. I really need to think about Barlow lenses etc

jupiter was small but well detailed the scope is so easy even I can use it

Great to hear

Have a 10" collapsible dob, and get many ours of enjoyment out of that

Find it quicker and easier to use when doing presentations for schools and scout/guide groups

Nothing worse when trying to do a 2 star alignment with my ED80 on a EQ5 mount, and having 20+ 5-7 yo's yapping around your heals asking

Mister, can I have a look

Find it easier to use a laser pointer, to spot with, and just lay along the dob adjacent to spotting scope, and then do final alignment using spotting scope

Good idea to align crosshairs on your spotting scope, first up

Use a distant street light, or a house on a distant hill to do this

2 hours ago, cletrac1922 said:

Great to hear

Have a 10" collapsible dob, and get many ours of enjoyment out of that

Find it quicker and easier to use when doing presentations for schools and scout/guide groups