Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Advice needed

I am just starting out with astrophotography. I have tried imaging M81 and M82 but the images look very over exposed and after putting them through DSS the TIF file is almost completely white. I realise that I need to edit it in photoshop but as a complete beginner I am not completely sure what way to go or if it is (as I suspect) so over exposed that it is a lost project. If I adjust the levels the image becomes pink.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Screen Shot 2017-05-07 at 14.11.53.png

Screen Shot 2017-05-07 at 14.10.45.png

Are you imaging from a light polluted location?

If so this would explain how you have ended up with such a bright background.

The data doesn't appear to be clipped though so you should be able to get something respectable by adjusting the channels individually to bring the red into line with the blue and green and setting the black point.

Use both levels and curves to improve the faint bits without making the background too bright.

15 minutes ago, D4N said:

Are you imaging from a light polluted location?

If so this would explain how you have ended up with such a bright background.

The data doesn't appear to be clipped though so you should be able to get something respectable by adjusting the channels individually to bring the red into line with the blue and green and setting the black point.

Use both levels and curves to improve the faint bits without making the background too bright.

The light pollution isn't too bad. The moon was bright though so maybe that has contributed. I didn't align the channels so will try that. I took 5 minute exposures so might try 3 minute next time to see if that makes a difference.

14 minutes ago, newbie alert said:

Did you align the peaks in dss

No. I am re-stacking now so will try that. Thanks.

9 minutes ago, newbie alert said: