Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

PHD2 Calibration and Guiding

I'm a newbie in this hobby and last week end I had the opportunity to start testing my setup with guiding.

I read a couple PHD2 tutorials and went on with it, I was successful taking 480sec exposures with round stars, so I pretty happy with my first attempt.

My question is related with the Calibration data produced by PHD2, please check bellow my data:

phd2.png.f6825ff0669f0bb8493e638a151e7568.png

I'm not fully understanding the data..

1) I assume a perfect tuned mount RA and DEC should align with the 90º graph scale.

1.a) Is this the orthogonality error ?

2) If my assumption is right, how do I correct the deviation ?

3) What are the white dots ?

4) Why the read and green lines do not align with the dots ?

5) What should I conclude concerning the performance of my mount by looking at the data ?

I know.. a lot of questions..

Just a bit of context, my setup is a NEQ6 with an ED80 (0x85 reducer), for guiding I have a TSL80 (328mm) with an ASI120, btw the NEQ6 is fully stock.

Thanks,

-jb

Orthogonality error is how much the two axes are off being at a right angle, although I have never been able to get my head around the way PHD presents this info.  

The angle you mention in (1) is dependant on how your guide camera is inserted.  Twist the camera in the ST80 a bit and see if it improves or gets worse.  Shouldn't make a lot of difference to the guiding, although you will need to recalibrate.

The white dots (3) are the return path (east or south movement).     

(4) Imperfect polar alignment, slight imperfections in the mount/drive train, backlash &c mean the star doesn't always return by the same path.  Try running guiding assistant tovsee what advice it gives, if you can bear to waste ten minutes or more imaging time.

(5) If you're happy with the results, round stars, crisp detail, then no don't be concerned.