Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Which camera??

Hi all

I'm taking my next huge step after years of visual observing thru my wee etx 80. I am delving into astrophotography.  However I have hit a snag in my research, I am wondering what type of dslr mod is required? I seem to find different mods at different prices.

I have just purchased a EQ6 Pro mount and ordered a Orion ED80T CF which is a triple APO , i will be ordering a guidescooe and cam shortly. I have DIYd a 120Ah leisure battery pack consisting of 6 x car charger plugs and 4 × USB. Im an electrician, so it shouldn't blow....

The camera i am planning on buying is a 600d, is this a decent dslr? And as above, what modding does it require? Ill probs buy one used off one of the sites that sell them pre modded. The camera wont be used for daylight photography.

Is it worth modding a dslr? Or should i just buy a starshoot G3 or similar priced colour CCD.  I will be taking most of my images from the UK dark site at Ennerdale Cumbria as I live about 5 miles away.

Hope you guys can help

Rob

You could start with an unmodded Canon.

The normal mod is where the colour correction filter is replaced with a clear or UV-IR filter. This enhances the red response and gives better recording of the Ha wavelengths.

(The other mod is where BOTH internal filters are removed to provide a better FULL spectrum coverage - generally only of interest to guys like me who do spectroscopy)