Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Eyepieces

Hi guys,

Im new to astronomy and i would love to here some advices which BUDGET eyepieces should i get for a 8" dobsonian. For planetary and deepsky observing.

Not anything too expensive.

Thanks!

The 8" Dobsonians tend to be f/6.

You have the option of something like the Vixen NPL Plossl's but got planetary work at shorter focal lengths these may not prove a usable option. THe eye relief gets small. FLO have tem for around the £40 area (+/-£5).

Generally the recommended option are athe BST Starguiders (£49), minor drawback is the 5mm to 8mm step at the lower end, I filled it by buying an Altair Lightwave at 6mm for (now) £55. Starguider came from Alan at Skies the Limit, the Altair one was from Tring Astro - Altair is an obvious source however.

The Staguiders are the same as the TS NED eyepieces, same eyepiece from Barsta with assorted names and brands on the side. Just in case TS are easier to purchase from.

Maybe check out the Celestron X-Cel LX options. Perform similar to the BST's but here they cost a reasonable percentage more so the BST's sort of get the greater number of purchasers.

I would suggest the 6mm Altair, 8mm BST and then I suppose the 15mm BST and the 25mm BST. 4 required but should cover most situations. I have the full set of BST's. As I guess the 5mm may be a bit too short that leaves 5, if you get as indicated then you will have 3 out of 5, you could easily just get the other 2 to have an almost full set and so equiped for everything. Even once or twice a year the 5mm may work for you.

How much are you looking to spend exactly? Some people's idea of 'budget' might mean buying an eyepiece for £100 rather than £350.