Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

PST, can someone explain simply what it is and what it does?

Alan White

Having been bitten by white light solar observing late last year and I have a lunt herschel wedge.
I keep reading about PST and other set ups, but not having seen one have not a clue.

Will you avid solar observers please explain please?
(some pictures would help).

I am new to solar and have not really grasped all the options yet.

Also any one single web site or books recommended?

As always your help and patience with me is appreciated.

I'll have a quick go....

Basically it is an entry level Hydrogen Alpha (Ha) telescope that allows you to observe solar features in Ha such as prominences and filaments. Everything you need to observe safely is built in, you just put an eyepiece in it, and obviously it needs a mount.

It has two main adjustments, firstly focus (obviously) and secondly tuning of the etalon which determines the exact frequency which is being passed through. This helps you tune in to different features such as surface detail or prominences.

I had one for a while and really enjoyed it. The current alternative would be the Lunt LS35 or Lunt LS50 which are worth a look.

Alan when you view the Sun with your Herschel Wedge you are seeing the Photosphere - sunspots, granulation etc. A Hydrogen Alpha scope looks at the Chromosphere and the attached website shows some of the details that are visible with a H.A scope - https://www.astroleague.org/content/hydrogen-alpha-solar-observing-program

I have owned a PST since 2005 and it has been a wonderful instrument. Many people undertake a PST modification to obtain a larger instrument by finding a donor scope - 80mm etc.

H-A scope are expensive and a 60mm Lunt with a larger blocking filter can cost £2000+

Thanks Mark and again Stu, that also helps.

The Astroleague link was an easy in and read, helpful.

The modification of a PST.