Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New to Forum and Advice on Deep Sky Grab & Go

Hello -

I am brand new to Stargazers Lounge this afternoon, and looking forward to discovering the many treasures which I'm sure are on offer!

Probably predictably, I'm starting with a question...

I have three telescopes:

1) Skywatcher Explorer 200p Newtonian reflector

2) Skywatcher Heritage 90 Maksutov with 'Virtuoso' mount http://www.opticalvision.co.uk/beginners-telescopes/skywatcher_heritage-90_virtuoso_autotracking_telescope.html

3) Orion ST 80-A refractor

The Skywatcher Explorer came with its EQ5 mount and tripod, the little Mak has its own small computerised tracking mount and for the Orion I bought a Celestron 'heavy duty' alt-az tripod which isn't very heavy duty at all, but seems to do the job with the two small scopes: http://www.rothervalleyoptics.co.uk/celestron-heavy-duty-altaz-tripod.html

My problem is a common one. There are no suitable observing sites near my house and I have to take gear in my van to do any decent observing. It didn't take me long to realise that loading up the reflector complete with mount and tripod, along with setting up and packing it all up at the end is almost enough hassle to take the enjoyment out of observing. For this reason I have taken the reflector, mount and tripod to my place in France where it will be much easier to get it into action.