Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Observing Jupiter

Sup people!

So, I have a 90mm refractor (that's how I think we say it :happy8:) and I would like to observe Jupiter. I currently own a 9mm and 25mm eyepiece and a Barlow len and I would like to know: How do I observe Jupiter with my equipment and what will I see? I'm a newbie and I'm still leaning so that's why I'm asking you!

Thanks in advance!

-Loïc :happy8:

(I just found that meme online :P)

f9ae75c625799aad1f2889f2df2415f0_astronomy-meme-generator-astronomy-memes_700-516.jpeg.871f4aacc8d8a6bd7ed52e9684efe7a5.jpeg

Dank memes ?

Anyways the view you get with your 90mm varies a little depending on if you have a cheap or high end refractor. But in general you should be able to see Jupiters 4 biggest moons, (Io, Europa, Ganymeade, and Callisto) atleast 2 orangish bands if not more, and the Great Red Spot. If you have a more expensive refractor, than you could probobly see swirling detail in the cloud bands and some of the smaller storms. 

Im sure some of the more experience observers could tell you more!

Hope this helps :)

jupiter.png.023dbd9f2a0d576f417a64f02463fd21.png

I dont know your telescopes focal length (to know your magnification with a 9mm eyepiece), but you will probably see something like this image.

The image is taken from this excellent post (highly recommended read):

Just want to add that Jupiter probably will appear very bright to you (except on very high powers).

Rune

Good work, Rune - you grabbed an excellent thread to link!

I hope you'll have a good stroll through it, Loic.