Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Struggle with my Canon 1300D

I've tried a few times to use the family camera for astrophotography without much success.

I use a T adaptor to attach the camera to the diagonal on my 6SE telescope.

Then when I try to take a picture more often then not it flashes up unable to do this on live mode or in certain settings tries to use the flash which bangs into the telescope which then means I have to turn the camera on and off.

Ive tried some settings in manual mode and a couple of other options but without much luck.

I am new to this and I only want some nice images of the moon and planets to begin with?

Richard

If you have a laptop it might be easier using the canon software or download apt for free. As happy-kat suggests remove the diagonal and connect the camera directly into the back of the scope.

You may find it easier to test in daylight..just keep away from the sun.

When you get the focus close it might be worth attaching a clothes peg to the focuser to make small adjustments.

A couple of additional point to those already mentioned, use manual mode and make sure the ISO setting is around 100-400 for lunar and not set to auto, the Camera is a Wi Fi model so you can use the Canon EOS utilities remotely with a laptop or the Canon camera connect app if you want to view and shoot with a mobile phone or tablet.

Alan

Do not have a Canon but on mine you cannot really just select M as the mode of operation. First you need to manually set the ISO, try 800. Then you have to set the mode to S and set the exposure length try 20 seconds. I also have the P mode set to no flash, if it is in A mode then the flash is Automatically selected by the camera if it so decides. Maybe on mine if "Not mode = A" then it defaults to my setting of no flash - just a thought. Sure there is another thing I set also (??).

On a Canon find the Noise Reduction and turn that off.