Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

20mm ES 68 degree v Vixen LVW 22mm

Alan White

Question for you good folks.

I love my Vixen LVW 22mm to bits, but its far heavier than all my other ep by a margin, this upsets the balance on my AZ4 and any following Alt Az.

I have a 16mm ES 68 degree and think its just great.
If I replaced the LVW with a 20mm ES 68 or a Maxvison or Meade, the balance will much improve, but
will I loose quality in my view?
I think I may not in my scope, but your thoughts and experience please.

Hi Alan

Hope you're well?.

I have owned both and both are fine eyepieces. You know how much I love  the LVW 22(!), and purely in optical terms I think the LVW is significantly better in terms of contrast and edge of field sharpness.

But you mention the weight being a possible issue, and there is no doubt that the ES is significantly lighter. I personally would stick with the LVW but it's your choice..

By the way, if you think the LVW is heavy you should try the ES34mm 68 - it's a bloomin grenade!! (Great EP though?).

Dave

You could perhaps try something like the Baader Q turret which allows multiple EP's to be fitted to the scope. That way you could balance the scope better maybe with a couple of EP's in the turret and not have to worry about a change in EP weight upsetting the balance when changing EP's.

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/baader-planetarium/baader-q-turret.html

Thanks Dave, hoped you would chip in.
I am very good thanks, just pondering options really at present.

Thanks Gus.
Not sure on a turret to be honest, not sure the focuser would like that near zenith.

Another option for F.O.V and weight is a 24mm Panoptic, but I don't like the price, I do like the small size and weight though.

I've owned a LVW 22 and more recently an ES 24 / 68 folllowed fairly rapidly by a Panoptic 24.