SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Craters north of Grimaldi

Nyctimene

This morning, I took out the 80/400 grab-and-go frac for an unplanned moon session. The terminator was near Grimaldi, and I could make out a crater chain extending north of Grimaldi. The smallest one was Lohrmann, directly adjacent Hevelius, followed by Cavalerius, all of them perspectively distorted ovals due to the location near the lunar limb. The central mountains could be seen despite  the rather bad seeing. Further north, the sunlit rims of the craters Cardanus, Krafft, and Eddington just began to show up. Seleucus and Reiner were distinct features, as was the albedo phenomenon Reiner Gamma.

Observing Lohrmann brought back memories from 1977, when I bought a copy of his lunar atlas ("Mondkarte"), published (long after his early death with 44) 1874. Surveyor by profession, he based the drawings of his 25-sections map of nearly 1 m diameter on 79 precise positions, measured with a 122/1950 mm Fraunhofer refractor. Here's a picture to show the enthusiasm of this almost forgotten professional amateur. The crater bearing his name is just at the moon equator between Grimaldi (left) and Hevelius (right).

DSC_0530.thumb.JPG.5fa7e1fe7b746afb802ed0c9e747220d.JPG

Stephan

A very nice map. I will look out for those craters neat Grimaldi. I've just come in from a shirt stint that included checking out the moon. Grimaldi (and Plato) stood out as  the darkest features for some reason.

Paz and Silver Astro,