Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_30_second_exp_2_winners.thumb.jpg.b5430b40547c40d344fd4493776ab99f.jpg

Sepp

Beginner

Total beginner, so much to learn, and understand. Have just purchased a telescope, Celestron astromaster 130eq, I have a 10mm eyepiece plus a 20mm

erecting eyepiece, my main interest is in the planets, so was hoping someone can guide me to the particular eyepieces I may need.

Hi Sepp, and welcome to S G L, there are many types of eyepieces at varied prices, you would be 

better posting your question in the eyepieces forum, stating what your budget is , this will help

to determine your price range, enjoy the forums.

Clear Sky's. 

• Like 1

Hello, Sepp, and welcome to SGL - it's nice of you to join us!

You'll find a very good forum on eyepieces here, and lots of knowledgable people who'd be happy to assist you.

We'll have you up & running in no time!

Starry Skies -

Dave

• Like 1

Hello and a warm welcome to the SGL. You do not have to rush into buying new eyepieces. The best advice for a beginner with their first telescope is to use the eyepieces provided . They are more than adequate to allow you to learn how to use your scope and gain the experience needed to allow you to choose new eyepieces when you have a better idea what you require. You can then post on the appropriate forum where you will get lots of advice. I would just add that when you do post it is best to give an idea of budget as eyepieces can cost from a few pounds to several hundreds. For the moment just go out and enjoy your new hobby.

• Like 1