Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New Avalon Linear or second hand Mach 1 GTO

fluX

I've been researching mounts the last few months to decide upon a new one as  I feel my skywatcher NEQ6-PRO isn't up to the task.

I have narrowed down my list to an Avalon Linear and a second hand, barely used Astro-physics Mach 1 GTO from 2009.

I want to do narrow band imaging with my 130mm triplet APO which with imaging gear weights about 30lbs. Focal length is 910mm. The camera I use is a ZWO 1600MM Cool.

At the moment I'm clinging towards the Mach 1 as I know A-P is one of the premium mount makers. Though I think the Avalon linear must be great too.

I must point out that I have no experience with premium mounts and that makes it very difficult for me to decide which one will serve me best in the long run. I want to buy a mount that with little fiddling delivers great images. Not only now, but also in the further future when I might tryout different optics too.

I'd be very glad to receive advice on this big and difficult decision. Which points would favor the linear over the mach1 GTO and vice versa?

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Are you planning to use the mount from a fixed observatory or will you be mobile?

Premium mounts do suffer failures just as often as mass-market mounts so you also need to consider running costs over the lifetime of the mount. I currently have a five year old Paramount MX in my observatory but in the time I have had it I have had to replace the RA worm assembly, the mount electronics board and the drive belts. The cost of purchasing the parts from the USA and the import taxes into the EU has meant running costs of over a thousand Euro and several months of downtime. The on-going need to subscribe to annual software updates just to continue receiving bug fixes for the SKY-X, needed to operate the Paramount MX, has also added over five hundred Euro in running costs.