Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I have been using PixInsight for about 2 months now and have been going through some old data.

Having become a bit more familiar the program I decided to have a go at Drizzling my data.
Following the steps listed in the ever-helpful Light Vortex website I was astounded by the results.

The image below is a comparison of the drizzled image (x2) on the left and the exact same data on the right with no drizzling.
I realised my set-up was going to be under sampling my images from the start with a 3.17 arc seconds per pixel rating but I had not pay too much attention to this.
I was also wondering why some of my stars in post processing were ‘bleeding’ colour when the RGB channels were combined, I now believe this was due to the blocky stars. I haven’t really got much further with my new drizzled data yet so I do have a couple of questions about the drizzled images before ploughing on.

I would imagine there is a payoff for drizzling images and not just the fact it takes longer to render and uses up more disk space.
Firstly the actual size of the drizzle images are larger (twice I guess, I selected default of x2?) Is this going to lower the resolution I had read that it doubles the resolution as well?

Can I leave them drizzled for the rest of the processing? Would there be any reason to reduce them back to their original size afterwards?

I also understand drizzled images benefit from good dithering. This is something I will be including in my workflow over the coming months when the Nebulas are back in town.

Needless to say, my appreciation for PixInsight keeps growing. I would imagine if you could buy a piece of optical hardware that could drizzle your star’s automatically people would pay a small fortune for it.
The fact that this ability is bundled within PixInsight makes its value ever greater.

Thanks.

Comparison_Left_Drizzle_Right_No_Drizzle.JPG