Narrowband

Power distribution

Shibby

Hi all,

I'm currently ordering parts for my observatory build and was hoping for some advice on the DC power distribution.

I already have my 30A bench power supply with short circuit protection. I have 2 heavy cable running this 12v output to the pier. I could do with a sanity check on the rest of the plan, as I have no experience and am a bit confused having read lots of different information.

Can I run this into a fuse box, e.g. http://www.12voltplanet.co.uk/low-profile-standard-blade-fuse-box-side-terminals-8-way.html

With appropriate fuses installed for each device (camera, mount etc), I then connect cables with blade terminals - but what sort of cable do I need for the devices? Will they need to be well shielded even at low current? Or will this sort of thing do: http://www.12voltplanet.co.uk/2-core-thin-wall-auto-cable-2-x-11-amp.html  -  It doesn't look very flexible, though.

Also, and I'm sure this is a very dumb question, how is it best to connect the negative wires - a separate terminal block?

Help and advice much appreciated (Please do not assume I know anything!)

Thanks

Hi Shibby

Look at the gauge of wire on the power units supplied with your camera, mount etc.

That's the sort of thickness you'll need from your fuse box to each device.

Even better, look up the amperage of each device's power supply.

Julian's 6A cable would be ample for the mount, I'd guess the camera needs far less.

Michael

The wire that you mention in the OP is suitable for 11 amps.  So should be just fine.

Here's a picture from my power box.  I've got 2 screwed cable busses.  One for positive and one for negative.

The cable that I'm using is rated for 50 amp.  (I like overkill)