Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Greetings from London

brushedsun

HI Folks! 

Looking forward to getting to figure out Stargazing, the lounge and astrophotography.

I am a complete newbie and i am just about to purchase my first scope. As i live in a london apartment it will mainly be used while camping (4 or 5 times per year) So looking for something small and lightweight that i can hopefully hook up my DSLR to. I think i need a GOTO and not just computer controlled for astrophotography) I will probably buy second hand initially and i have been looking at the Meade ETX80 GOTO, as this seems really portable and comes in a backpack. 

I would be delighted if anyone can spare a min to give me a little guidance or to tell me if i am way off track, all seems a little daunting!

KR

Marc

Welcome to the SGL.

There are folk here that are are better suited in the art of astrophotography, who will help and guide you.

One of the books often recommended is this one https://www.firstlightoptics.com/books/making-every-photon-count-steve-richards.html    I have a copy myself, but your best listening to the photographers themselves, that said, the author of this book is also a member here at the SGL.

Enjoy the process.

Hello and welcome :smiley:. As a strictly Visual observer I`m afraid I cant give you any pointers towards the steep ladder of AP.

But there are (of course) plenty of AP experts in here. Good Luck!

Rune

Greetings, Marc - welcome to SGL, it's very nice of you to join us here!

Asking questions on all-things-astronomy is why we're all here, so have no qualms or worries in asking yours in these many forums of SGL. We love helping to find answers.

Starry Skies (or the best as can be from London) -

Dave

Hello and welcome ?