SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

CCD Weirdness

Am putting this in the beginners section because I am still very very new to CCD imaging.

Having finally managed to get out tonight, I am running into a few issues.

1st you will see from the attached is one of focus.  Have had my verniers out and marked and measured the distances that I am supposed to have between my come corrector and CCD, but still cannot achieve a sharp focus.

The second is a bit more bemusing.

The 1st image was a 15 min grab with a lum filter and the 2nd is the same target with same filter but only 1 min.

The question is what is going on?  Am I exposing for too long and this is what is giving me the weirdness?

As for focusing, am guessing I am going to have to get my OTS off the mount and get it somewhere during the day where I can have an experiment with getting the right distances between all the optical train elements

Image 1

58d983d135f83_CCDStrangenessLongExposure.thumb.jpg.6428ece4c3875c17563a692ab7ec57c8.jpg

Image 2

58d9847e629fa_CCDStrangenessShortExposure.thumb.jpg.56e0cf8c0f34b10cbe8dad8d51a9d7ea.jpg

The difference in images could be due to high level cloud. I'm unsure about your skies but mine are very murky at the moment. Not sure about the banding though. Maybe due to a power drop? I get banding like that on my 383l when my battery is running low.

Made some progress.

i emailed Terry at SX last night and he had a look at the fits images.  He thought that I may have in issue with the anti-blooming level so asked me to take a picture of the insides and send it to him.  This confirmed his suspicions and he suggesed that I adjust the potentionmeter controlling it.  Followed the instructions and am now waiting to try it out.  WIll give it a go on my flats box as hopefully I will be able to get exposures greater than 1/1000th of a second without seeing the strange artifacts.