SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Trouble imaging on an unguided NEQ6 mount

Hi guys,

Im relatively new to the AP scene, and i was having trouble the other night whilst trying to image Jupiter. I was getting trails of the planet and moons, even on very short exposures (1/500) using an astromodded Canon 100d. Ive imaged Jupiter before and not had this problem, so in the end i gave up and tried to look at my polar alignment to see if thats the issue, i havent had a chance to image since so il have to come back to it and see if that helps, but even before i wasnt really getting anything over a minute unguided without star trails when imaging M51, is this normal or should i be expecting more? I was under the assumption that with a motorised mount like the eq6 i could expect to get a good few minutes before i lose it?  

the kit im using is as follows;

Canon 100d astromodded

Skywatcher 150PDS

Old model NEQ6 GOTO mount 

Which brings me to my next question, i want to get an autoguider, but im relatively new/skint so i dont want to spend a huge amount on one, just something to increase my tracking so i can get longer exposures and eventually i will upgrade. Ive read countless threads/reviews and it seems everyone has a different opinion, but the two that have stood out thus far are the Orion Magnificent mini package and the ZWO ASI120 either MC or MM, unsure on the benefits or draw backs of having colour if im going to shoot with a DSLR anyway. Are these fairly good for a beginner using the kit i already have, or would anybody recommend a different guider/path? Sorry for the essay! :)

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You should have a SW finderscope on the 150PDS (I hope), you can convert that with an adapter in the back to hold a guide camera.  I would check which cameras are suitable for this i.e. there is an adapter made for the finderscope that will fit the camera, FLO will probably know.