Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello from NZ

thebionn

Hi all

New-ish to the forums, recently gifted an 8" Dobsonian as an early birthday present so I'm new to the scoping aspect but lifelong (unaided) stargazer.

I'll be back with loads more questions once I get the hang of it. Set it up the other night and saw Jupiter with its 4 Gallilean moons, absolutely amazing.

Bye bye for now.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome, I can only imagine the awesomeness of the skies where you are. Its a great regret of mine that I spent almost a month in the southern hemisphere years ago and never once looked up at the stars. With flight prices as they are and family commitments its going to be a long time before I get another chance.

Thanks everyone!

Clear skies last night, had my first encounter with dropping temperatures causing condensation on the lens. Welcome to dew point. 

Even in the suburbs, the stargazing potential is high here, with the milky way clearly visible to the naked eye. Jupiter the only planet visible, the others are all hiding under the horizon. For now. 

Still coming to terms with everything being upside down, as I'm originally from Ireland (Hi Uhwaz!). Orion is the wrong way round, and don't get me started with the man on the moon. 

21 minutes ago, thebionn said:

Thanks everyone!

Clear skies last night, had my first encounter with dropping temperatures causing condensation on the lens. Welcome to dew point. 

Even in the suburbs, the stargazing potential is high here, with the milky way clearly visible to the naked eye. Jupiter the only planet visible, the others are all hiding under the horizon. For now. 

Still coming to terms with everything being upside down, as I'm originally from Ireland (Hi Uhwaz!). Orion is the wrong way round, and don't get me started with the man on the moon.