SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

ZWO 1600 Cool operating problems - help!

groberts

Having purchased the 1600 MM-cool at the end of last year, what with one thing and another (Xmas, travel, EFW problems but mostly cloud – lots of it!) I’ve really only just started to try to using it.  This camera marks my attempt to transition from DSLR and boy is it a whole new ballgame.

With a brief gap in the cloud last night, using APT I focused on Sirius and then turned to M44 for a few 30 sec luminance frames before the cloud inevitably returned.  I just wanted to: (a) obtain focus with the new set-up – I’m also new to APT and used the Bahtinov aid (b) run cooling and (c) obtain some basic luminance subs just to see the outcome!

-        As far as focus is concerned visually the Bahtinov spikes looked good + using the APT aid the focus circle was OK but still not sure if I have nailed it (Image-2 below),  how can I improve this?

-        Using the APT Cooling Aid the temperature did not seem to change – having set the parameters I then started.  Am I missing something or do I have a problem?

-        On using DSS the resulting stack (Image-1) is covered in weird artifacts – what on earth is happening here?

-        Looking at the aforesaid stack in Photoshop the image looks OK but when ‘fitted to the screen’ is covered in a Bayer-type grid (Image-3) – any thoughts?

Thanks, Graham

M44 DSS.png

M44 PS1.jpg

M44 DSS fit.png

Weird that all of your sample images have colour in them when you have the mono (1600MM) camera. Is Apt perhaps somehow treating the mono image as RAW? (but then I'd still not expect to see colour!).

I'd suggest testing with another application (I can say for sure that SharpCap works well with the 1600 cameras ;) ) to rule out software problems.

Could the top image be the effect of some sort of contamination on the sensor? It would seem unlikely in a practically new camera but I can't think what else it looks like.

cheers,