Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Setting up scope on a slope

Beginner here, haven't even got my scope set up yet, but I think I may have a problem. My entire backyard (only reasonable viewing area) is on a slope. About a 30 degree slope. Is it possible to set up on a slope by adjusting the tripod legs to make it level, or will it still be unstable and tip over (8" OTA reflector, 14 lbs and 2 x 12lb counterweights on the mount)? My only option for a flat spot is a dock (vibrations of course then the issue) or in a corner between the house and fence with very limited view and streetlight in view. Any suggestions on what to do? 

I would experiment first with tripod only. See what seems more stable, one or two legs down slope. If you can get it level and sturdy, add the mount and check how hard it is to topple. Align mount as necessary and check again how sturdy it is. That should give you a pretty good idea of whether it would work.

Find the spot you are most likely to view from and try it out. My garden slopes, but not as much as yours, and I have found levelling the mount works fine. The only problem is if you want to use more than 1 site during a session. Then you really have to start all over again if you move.

Do you have the possibility to drive fence post anchors into the ground? If you can, try these L-shaped anchors with most of the top removed. Drive them into the ground where your tripod legs will be, such that the flat is level. Then also use sand bags to keep the tripod from slipping. I think this should work and make setting up every time, easier.

http://www.post-anchors.com/postanchors/post-support.html

I use this kind of anchor in my backyard (level), and am very much faster at setting up and leveling the tripod. It also makes alignment faster. I have wrapped the flat top in roofing material to keep the tripod from slipping.

Hope this helps