SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hi everybody,Newbie from Doncaster

Grapefruitmoon

I have had a lifelong interest in all things cosmological,but have never really had the time to really pursue the hobby,I eventually plumped to get my very first Telescope  for Christmas,a  Skywatcher Heritage 130P,the only problem I am quickly learning is trying to find a clear sky with a Dark Sky location around Doncaster,the Light polution in this area is dreadful.I went out last night to Idle Bank at Westwoodside,thinking this location would be Excellent,but even though a very clear night,the light Polution from Doncaster is still really bad and still couldnt see Andromeda with the naked eye.Where do people go to in Doncaster to get an acceptable Dark Sky.I am new to the hobby,but I have to admit their are already BIG frustrations with getting an enjoyable sky around here.Any advice would be very welcome.Thanks

2 minutes ago, Grapefruitmoon said:

I have had a lifelong interest in all things cosmological,but have never really had the time to really pursue the hobby,I eventually plumped to get my very first Telescope  for Christmas,a  Skywatcher Heritage 130P,the only problem I am quickly learning is trying to find a clear sky with a Dark Sky location around Doncaster,the Light polution in this area is dreadful.I went out last night to Idle Bank at Westwoodside,thinking this location would be Excellent,but even though a very clear night,the light Polution from Doncaster is still really bad and still couldnt see Andromeda with the naked eye.Where do people go to in Doncaster to get an acceptable Dark Sky.I am new to the hobby,but I have to admit their are already BIG frustrations with getting an enjoyable sky around here.Any advice would be very welcome.Thanks

Welcome to SGL ,