SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Venus to date

mikeDnight

This afternoon 15/3/17, with a blue sky and full Sun. I thought I'd try for Venus as it approaches its thinnest. It's not there yet but its a beautiful sight if anyone fancies the challenge in daylight. I observed from my run off roof observatory, so the Sun was just below the observatory wall as I swept the sky with 16×70 binoculars from my swivel chair. Eventually I found it set against a bright, almost blinding, sky background. I quickly and carefully aimed the scope mounted on its equatorial at the planet and brought the image to focus. Using W80A Blue and W21 Orange filters, I studied the incredibly thin crescent for bright spots and dusky markings. Attached is not only today's sketch, but a collection of Venus sketches made over the current apperition, just to illustrate the phase changes. (I must apologise in advance, as I am untamed as regards orientation. I observe using a prism most of the time, but to make matters worse, I rotate the prism to suit my own comfort and disposition. This all makes for a totally confusing set of sketches for those who like to adhere strictly to the IAU method of orientation). Of course some do conform to IAU. Make of it what you will! :icon_jokercolor:

Thanks for looking. :icon_biggrin:

Mike

2017-03-08 14.25.48.jpg

2017-03-08 14.27.37.jpg

2017-03-08 14.28.33.jpg

2017-01-02 19.51.26.jpg

2017-02-27 23.00.26.jpg

2017-03-08 22.46.02.jpg

2017-03-12 19.57.16.jpg

2017-03-14 23.16.01.jpg

2017-03-15 17.24.10.jpg

Great series Mike :smiley:

I managed to catch Venus at early evening today, about 20 minutes before it "sets" behind our western conifer hedge. The phase was clear even with the 6x30 finder and the planet absorbed magnification well with the Tak FC100. I even used 450x, for a giggle, for a while :grin:

I think the illumination is 4.4% this evening which is the thinnest that I've seen it.