Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Long Exposure

Hello everyone! I am new to Stargazers Lounge and I am hoping that I can get some help when it comes to imaging, perhaps even post-processing. I took off to Malibu, Ca. a few nights ago to process Orion and all of its nebulosity, which has been tough for me to image. My idea has been to do an extremely long exposure, but in doing so, I blew out the image. I actually took a 10 minute exposure at ISO 1600. My question is, what would be the best exposure time to capture nebulosity? Also, will bringing down the ISO to the low hundreds to prevent the image from blowing out, even with a hypothetical 5 minute exposure, diminish the amount of nebulosity that can be obtained? By nebulosity, I refer to the Horsehead Nebula, Barnard's Loop, etc. And a final question, is it better to get several shorter exposures of say a minute and then stacking them, or to get a single long exposure of an excess of 5 minutes? The equipment that I used: Canon Rebel SL1, Canon 24mm f/2.8 lens, and the iOptron SkyTracker. I know I also don't have the best equipment, so I'm hoping that maybe someone can let me know if that in itself can prevent me from obtaining better images. I thank you all in advance for your help and advice! 

Hi

Have a look in the widefield imaging section and see what, and how, others have done with similar equipment. If you suffer from light pollution and skyglow that will limit the length of individual exposures. Perhaps think in terms of taking many short exposures and stacking them. I wouldn't worry about taking darks. I'm not sure how sensitive the sl1/100d is to Halpha but you might consider getting it astro modified or of getting another second hand canon to get modified.

Louise