Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_30_second_exp_2_winners.thumb.jpg.b5430b40547c40d344fd4493776ab99f.jpg

ollypenrice

The Mesu is five.

While sorting out some old pictures for Yves he linked me to an SGL thread from 2012, shortly after he brought the Mesu down here. I wrote a description of the mount and some discussion followed. I hadn't realized that I've been using this mount for just over five years, now. Bear in mind that it's in commercial use and that we get a lot of clear nights here.

In the discussion which followed there was some understandable scepticism about the friction drive mechanism. Would it wear and begin to slip? Well, the mount has never dropped a sub. We've dropped one or two because of lost guide stars, a wobbly OAG, a snagged cable or a clumsy Olly Penrice but the mount has yet to make a mistake. 

Not many of us can name our mounts as the most reliable part of our kit but that is so for me. The Mesu began life carrying Yves' 14 inch Dall Kirkham and imaging at 0.66 arcsecs per pixel. For the last three years it has been carrying the house 'Twin Tak' dual rig co-owned by Tom O'Donoghue. It just works.

I'm hoping to pick up a second of the early Argonavis/Stellarcat versions at some point because this suits me more than the more PC reliant SiTech version. I just don't really like letting the internet anywhere near my mounts. (Note recent hassles involving a change to Windows' clock conflicting with the SiTech clock. Not the end of the world if you are doing it for fun, but not good at all if you have guests in for a week to use the gear.)

So the Mesu marches on.

Olly

Yves and the Mesu back in 2012. YVES.thumb.jpg.46957cef83571791921defd51c332f45.jpg

• Like 4