Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Beginners Radio Astronamy

44 minutes ago, boardy77 said:

to get into Radio Astronomy" ?

what does he mean by R A ?

detecting the sun ( at what wavelength ), SIDs,  detecting the Milky Way, or Cassiopeia A,  reflections off the aurora, off meteors (of amateur radio ops), VLF - ELF     etc&etc  ??

Most of that can be done with off the shelf gear, but the antennas need a bit of diy and having some real-estate well away from civilisation  helps.

There is a big, helpful topic here: 

It's quite easy to start with meteors detecting. Your friend should buy a SDR dongle (I recommend RTL-SDR it's cheap and sufficient), build an Yagi antenna for 143MHz and start listen :) 

• 1 month later...

Guys I'll be watching this thread closely.  I'm a science teacher in rural South Australia and have decided to 'have a go' at using Radio Astronomy to make wave theory a bit more exciting.  I thought we'd start with something a bit LF/HF to get some earth readings, then progress to FM to read meteorites.  Now I'm in the process of tracking down good day time falls as a 'hook' to get the kids interested.

Regrettably I'm a techno / electro component moron, so I'll be learning flat out myself.  I'll buzz you with questions and updates quite regularly.

Cheers Dave.

• 2 months later...
On 3/8/2017 at 09:42, Way said:

There is a big, helpful topic here: 

It's quite easy to start with meteors detecting. Your friend should buy a SDR dongle (I recommend RTL-SDR it's cheap and sufficient), build an Yagi antenna for 143MHz and start listen :) 

Hi thought you might like to see my setup. Its based on a Gibertini 1 mtr dish on a alt az mount. will post more info if anyone is interested in learning more about it

DSCN1640.JPG

DSCN1643.JPG

DSCN1644.JPG

• 2 weeks later...

Tell

On 1.07.2017 at 11:54, Tomatobro said: