Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron AltAz GoTo vs Synscan

I have dilemma. In the market for an AltAz GoTo mount and having difficulty deciding between Celestron (Nexstar SLT) & Skywatcher (Star Discovery). From what I've read the Celestron GoTo system is more fully-featured and easy to use, particularly for a newbie. On the other hand the Star Discovery mount has the FreedomFind gubbins which is going to be much more tolerant of my 7yo nudging the scope or the mount. Then there's also the fact the Star Discovery mount gets me more aperture - 150P vs the 130 SLT (or one of the other SLT range scopes)

I've used the Celestron system a couple of times using SkyAlign and have had a 50% success rate in getting the alignment accurate but I have no experience of Synscan. I'm reasonably proficient at spotting and naming what I guess will be Synscan alignment stars (Capella, Sirius, Betelgeuse, Rigel, Aldebaran, etc.) but I worry with cloudy skies that I don't have enough star-finding knowledge to find some of the less famous stars. Setup time is really important as I have an impatient and keen 7yo to keep occupied. His current scope is a Lidl special Bresser refractor which we'll carry on using for a while as he's quite attached to it. Ultimately either of the reflectors is going to be a big upgrade compared to this but I just can't decide about the mounts! We're only interested in visual and using GoTo merely to be able to find some of the trickier objects. He's a bit young to be teaching manual star-hopping. As such we just need to be able to reliably get an object in a 25mm eyepiece - once it is there I'll just sync the mount on it and let it track until we move on to the next target. Is Synscan going to be frustrating to use? All I've read about EQMod suggests to me that its almost not fit for purpose hence that software being written...