SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Favorite things to observe

I'm a beginner and I thought it would be fun to see what peoples favorite things to see in the night sky are.  So far mine are like this

Naked eye,  venus

Binoculars,  the plieades

Telescope,  Jupiter and the orion nebula 

Please share your experiences I would love to hear about them! 

7 minutes ago, Galen Gilmore said:

I am new to this thing called astronomy as well! :happy7:

naked eye: the Milky Way.

Binoculars: Pleadies, Hyades, Alpha Persei Cluster, Andromeda Galaxy. 

Telescope: Saturn, Jupiter, Orion Nebula, Ring Nebula, Epsilon Lyrae (Double-Double), Double Cluster, Owl cluster.

Lol I can't see the milky way from here to much light pollution I want to so bad though! 

1 hour ago, Googinhiem said:

Lol I can't see the milky way from here to much light pollution I want to so bad though! 

I can't either, but I regularly go to a dedicated astronomy park that has significantly less light pollution. And if I drive a few hours I can stay at a state park that you can easily see the Triangulum Galaxy with your naked eye.

Another new guy here!

Naked eye: Mizar & Alcor, Hyades, and the constellations in general

Binoculars: M44, Pleaides, and not so good to look at in bins but impressive nonetheless the Crab Nebula

Telescope: I've only had the chance to use mine once, and the full moon was out, but I was impressed when splitting Rigel and Castor.

Naked eye: Orion; Canis Maior with Sirius (both will disappear in spring for six months); Pleiades; ashen moonlight; constellation Scorpius (early morning hours,  deep south)

Bins: Pleiades, Hyades; M44; the star field around Alpha Persei (Mirphak), Cassiopeias and Aurigas  open clusters (M 36/37/38); Kemble's cascade (asterism)

Scope: Orion nebula, Rosette nebula/cluster; in Gemini M35 with NGC 2158; the two Leo galaxies groups (M 95/96/105 and M 65/66/NGC 3628)