Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Eyepiece mix

Looking for a wee bit more advice on an eyepiece range. I had read comments on here about the Baader Hyperion range not really being suitable for a F6 scope but after trying one and liking it I decided to buy a couple and should have them soon. Here is my set up of EPs' 

I have a SW 200p Dob ( 1200 ) F6

5mm Baader Hyperion

7mm x-cel LX 

10mm stock

13mm Badder Hyperion

25mm Wide Angle stock 

I also have the 2 fine tuning rings from Baader Hyperion to add range.

I was thinking of getting the 21mm Baader Hyperion to finish my set/range as the tuning rings would fill in the gaps that I think I want/need or would it be better to get something else. I'm sure all you experienced guys can see where I want to go with the range so I just want your opinions/advice because as a newbie I may be looking at this all wrong. BTW I wear glasses but didn't really need them on my 10mm stock but after a while I was seeing floaters in my eyes.  Again many thanks in advance for your help....... Scott 

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply
7 minutes ago, furrysocks2 said:

That didn't take you long... ;)

I know furrysocks lol.... So much for taking my time, but I see the eyepieces as an easy win because if they don't suit then you can sell them on quite easily. I just want to know if I'm on the right track......

I would have said consider swapping out the 2 supplied items, you could go with the X-Cel LX's at 9mm and 25mm.

The Hyperons tend to prefer slower scopes but the comparison is often made at f/5 and from memory their "limit" is about f/6 so not a lot slower. The one concern is the 5mm Hyperon. Again eyepieces in general are usually reasonable until you get to the 5mm and then they start needing to be good - suspect it is the curvatures of the objective and eyepiece fighting each other, and some to get 5mm use a barlow arrangement.